What do the students study in year 7?

Introduction to religion

  • Mysteries of the world
  • Brief overview of world religions
  • Belief
  • The Golden Rule

Creation Stories/Myths

  • Introduction to myths
  • My perfect world and Christian Creation
  • Hindu Creation
  • Chinese Creation
  • Evolution


  • Introduction to festivals
  • Hannukah
  • Advent
  • Christmas
  • Divali

Religion and the environment

  • What are we doing to the environment?
  • How can we change our attitude to the environment?
  • Religion and the environment

Community and religion

  • What makes up a community?
  • Traditional church
  • Aids to worship
  • Gurdwaras


  • Introduction to pilgrimage
  • What is a pilgrimage
  • Lourdes
  • Varanasi


  • Life of Muhammad
  • The Five Pillars
  • The Hajj
  • Prayer
  • The Qur’an
  • Mosques
  • Marriage and family life

What do the students study in year 8?

Who was Jesus?

  • Recap on His life
  • A study of different images of Jesus
  • The Creeds and what they say about Jesus
  • Jesus in hymns
  • Evidence for Him being the Son of God

Aspects of religion

  • Smart’s 7 Dimensions
  • Project


  • Origins of the religion
  • The concept of Gods and Goddesses
  • Belief
  • Yogas
  • Worship
  • Sacred texts
  • Festivals
  • The Caste System
  • Ashramas

Faith in action and moral dilemmas

  • The life of Gandhi

Rites of passage

  • What are rites of passage?
  • Celebration of birth in Christianity and Hinduism
  • Transition from childhood to adulthood
  • Marriage ceremonies in Christianity and Hinduism
  • Death and funerals in Christianity and Hinduism

What do students learn in Year 9?

9a groups

These students follow the GCSE course from September

9b groups

In terms 1 -4, these students study the following –

  • Aspects of Sikhism
  • Aspects of Buddhism
  • Suffering and the Helen Keller story

In term 5, they start the GCSE course

9c groups

Over the next 3 years, these students will study the following –

  • Aspects of Buddhism
  • Good v evil
  • Suffering and the Helen Keller story
  • Prejudice and Martin Luther King
  • Rules for living
  • Aspects of Sikhism
  • Faith / Moral views in action
  • Work of charities
  • Prejudice – a study of the life of Anne Frank
  • Peace and conflict leading to a study of Steve Biko

GCSE Religion and Life

This is a short course worth half a GCSE. The contents of this course are:

  • Section 1 - Believing in God which covers reasons why people believe in God, why some people do not believe in God, how Christians respond to the problems and the media and belief in God. (Only Christianity)
  • Section 2 - Matters of life and death which covers life after death, abortion, euthanasia and the media and matters of life and death.
  • Section 3 - Marriage and the family which covers sex and marriage, divorce, family life, homosexuality and contraception.
  • Section 4 - Religion and community cohesion which covers roles of men and women, racial harmony, religious harmony and the media and community cohesion.

In sections 2, 3 and 4, Christianity and Sikhism will be studied.

GCSE Ethics

In this course, the following units are studied –

  • Unit 1 – Religion and human relationships which covers the role of men and women in the family, marriage and marriage ceremonies, divorce, sexual relationships and contraception.
  • Unit 2 – Religion and medical ethics which looks at attitudes to abortion, fertility treatment, euthanasia, suicide and using animals in medical research.
  • Unit 3 – Religion, poverty and wealth which includes religious views of wealth and of the causes of hunger, poverty and disease, concern for others, the uses of money and moral and immoral occupations.
  • Unit 4 – Religion, peace and justice which covers attitudes to war, violence and pacifism, crime and punishment and social injustice.
  • Unit 5 – Religion and equality which looks at the principle of equality, attitudes towards racism, gender and religion and forgiveness and reconciliation.
  • Unit 6 – Religion and the media which includes relationship with the media, use of the media and censorship/freedom of speech.

GCSE Philosophy

In this course, the following units are studied –

  • Unit 1 – Belief about Deity which covers the nature of God (including the idea of the Trinity), belief in God and miracles.
  • Unit 2 – Religious and spiritual experience which looks at public and private worship, prayer and meditation and food and fasting.
  • Unit 3 – The end of life which includes body and soul, life after death and funeral rites.
  • Unit 4 – Good and evil which covers God and the Devil and the Fall, the problem of evil, coping with suffering and sources and reasons for moral behaviour.
  • Unit 5 – Religion, reason and revelation which looks at the form and nature of revelation and the authority and importance of sacred texts.
  • Unit 6 –Religion and Science which includes the scientific theories and Bible teachings about the origins of the world and life, people and animals and environmental issues.